What Literally Happened Between Me and Tiwa Savage – Solid Star

Solid-Star-Ft-Tiwa_cover3-750x410

Joshua Iniyezo, popularly called Solid Star, speaks with TOFARATI IGE, on his profession and different troubles

Can you percentage a chunk of your adolescence?

I am an Isoko boy from Delta State. I became born and bred within the popular ghetto, Ajegunle, in Lagos. I am the ultimate baby and I actually have three siblings. I lived with my grandmother at Ajegunle because my dad and mom separated even as I changed into nonetheless very young. However, my father, who changed into a army man, is overdue now. One of my deep regrets is that my grandma did no longer stay long enough to reap the culmination of her labour. However, I’m sure she might be happy with me anywhere she is proper now.

How a long way did you go with your schooling?

I attended Oshodi Secondary School. Even even though I could have cherished to pursue my educational pastimes further, I could not do so due to paucity of price range. However, I realised a long time ago that achievement isn’t always simplest decided by what number of faculties you visit however via what you could offer. That is why I decided to comply with music that is my past love. And I’m satisfied for in which I am today.             

How precisely did you get into the music enterprise?

I become a member of my church’s choir and I used to sing and play a few units. However, my tune profession formally kicked off in 2008. I used to carry out at carnivals in Ajegunle and I had a few lovers back then who liked my tune and spurred me on due to the fact I actually have a completely unique voice. I later met the CEO of my file label, Ossy Achievas, and he supplied me a document deal. The rest, as they are saying, is records. When I met Ossy, I become doing the Ajegunle style of track and he cherished my voice but he wasn’t satisfied with the kind of music I was doing. So he encouraged me to diversify and the result is what you pay attention nowadays.

What’s the tale at the back of your stage call, Solid Star?

That’s certainly the call my grandmother used to name me and I decided to adopt it as my level call.

How do you classify your style of tune?

I am a flexible artiste and I can sing whatever goodbye because it sounds right. However, you may name what I do Afro pop or Afro soul.

What are you working on in the intervening time?

Right now, I’m nevertheless promoting the WEED album I released late ultimate 12 months. I had been placing out movies for the songs off the album with months’ durations and that’s what is taking my time now. I plan to shoot a video with Timaya next.

You’ve labored with 2face before, why did making a decision to feature him again?

2face is anyone I even have tremendous respect for. He is an icon and a legend and I would love to paintings with him on all my songs if I have the possibility to do that. It is continually a privilege running with him. The first tune I featured him on changed into One in a Million, and that was the tune that thrust me into the limelight. 2face is a very humble individual and my love for him grew after he agreed to feature in my first tune because I wasn’t recognized lower back then and he standard to work with me.

You actually have a track with Tiwa Savage and there has been so much chemistry among the each of you inside the video. What is your courting along with her?

There is not anything among us; the best courting we’ve is paintings-related. It is our task and that’s the way it’s finished. Apart from song, we also act and that’s what Tiwa did within the video. We had to make it plausible and interesting for our viewers. What you see in our movies most times isn’t actual. We just regularly need to act in a sure way to portray the message of the tune. Besides, Tiwa is a fan of what I do and I am her fan as properly, so we always like operating with each different. And don’t forget about that she’s married.

Are you thinking about getting married soon?

Marriage is a great aspect but I don’t have the aim of settling down anytime soon. I still have plenty of factors to do and I’m running on lots of projects in the intervening time. For now, it’s far simply me and my tune. I will keep liberating right tune for my lovers. I’m additionally looking in the direction of having a few global collaboration; inside Africa and outside the continent. I trust that marriage will come at the right time when I’m geared up.

Since marriage isn’t always in the books for you every time quickly, what’s your courting together with your toddler mama?

I actually have a totally terrific relationship with my son and his mom. However, I wouldn’t need to say tons about that in case you don’t thoughts.

You once stated you adore being round ladies, are you a womaniser?

No, I am now not. What I meant become that I love being in the agency of ladies and I draw numerous notion from them. It doesn’t mean there needs to be whatever untoward among us. And if you note, maximum of my songs are approximately females.

Which artistes might you want to paintings with on the global scene?

The list is pretty lengthy. But I’ll love to feature Nicki Minaj, Neyo, Rick Ross, Chris Brown, Kelly Rowland, among others.

Which could you regard as your largest song till date and why?

My Body is my biggest tune thus far. It won global reputation and those relate to it more than my other songs. It has also accumulated numerous perspectives and downloads online. Oluchi is another large music of mine.

Which of your songs was maximum memorable that allows you to record?

The manner of writing all my songs are memorable and I can remember all of the information of each song. However, Oluchi, stands out.

Apart from Nigeria, wherein do you’ve got the most lovers?

I have a variety of lovers in Uganda. They love me and they respect my work over there. I always enjoy myself wherever I visit perform and they generally welcome me with loud receptions. I get quite a few love all over the world.

Do you sometimes sense like you’re underrated inside the music industry?

I don’t experience that way. We all can not shine inside the identical manner and I am now not green with envy of every body. My songs are doing nicely available and I have plenty of fanatics who appreciate and patronise my tune. I also get to carry out at big concerts within and outdoor the u . S ., so I’m not complaining. Believe me, I even have come a long manner inside the industry and I’m happy with wherein I am now. I still have a long way to move and every step of the adventure to the top is vital to me.

Can you name a number of your affects in song?

I have a variety of love for 2face. I also like Kevin Little, R. Kelly, Akon and P-Square.

Some human beings experience you could be too flamboyant at times?

I don’t apprehend what you imply by flamboyance. But the music commercial enterprise calls for a variety of display-off. It is what the enthusiasts love and we should give it to them. I am yet to peer musicians in any a part of the sector who aren’t extravagant. It is known as showbiz for a purpose.

What private features have helped you in your profession to this point?

I attempt no longer to get carried away by the things around me and I continue to be proper to myself. It also will pay to be hardworking, devoted, devoted, focused and determined. But most significantly, it’s been by the grace of God.

Do you bear in mind yourself a elegant person?

All I recognize is that I don’t comply with trends. I choose to wear what I’m secure in and I love being easy.

How do you unwind?

I play video video games loads and I additionally grasp out with buddies. I work out too.

Leave a Reply

